The Ascending World
The Ascending World
Newsletter 42: The hard thing about hard things
0:00
-54:00

Newsletter 42: The hard thing about hard things

Welcome to another edition of the Struggle.

The Struggle is a weekly newsletter where I share my thoughts and learnings from running a fast-growing startup in Southeast Asia.

This week, I have prepared something different, rather than the typical “newsletter” format, I am sharing my latest podcast.


The Hard Thing About Hard Things

This week I am sharing a podcast that’s quite special for me for two reasons:

  1. My good friend Naina started a podcast called “the introprenuer” and invited me to be her first guest. 😎

  2. The entire podcast is structured around one of my favorite books - “The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers.” 📚

In fact, I named this newsletter after a key concept in the book, i.e., “the Struggle.”

During our conversation, we touched on the following topics:

  • My journey as a reader, when did it start, and how does it help me on a day to day basis in my career?

  • How to manage layoffs with compassion?

  • How to strike a balance between pushing and supporting your team?

  • What is the hardest thing I have had to undergo being at a C-level position at a start-up?

  • My thoughts on treating people in times of instability.

  • What is the biggest struggle of startup founders?

  • How I think about spending time reflecting on what I could have done VS what I might do in the future?

  • What is a healthy degree of accountability, and at what point you fall into the trap of thinking that it’s your job to fix all problems?

  • Why hiring “t-shaped people” in early-stage startups makes a lot of sense?

    If you want to watch the video recording, click here. 👇

Watch the Video


About “the introprenuer”

If you are interested in listening to similar conversations with the region’s most avid readers, I highly recommend you to subscribe to Naina’s podcast.

In her own words, Naina started this project because:

“I started this as I wanted people to understand the importance of learning from the best authors and leaders through the best books. I wanted them to learn how entreprenuers and intraprenuers around us, managed to achieve their goals by learning from the best. I wanted people to understand how others introspect. I wanted people to be further inspired to make the changes needed to meet their goals. I wanted to speak to introprenuers to help others become introprenuers.”

Who is an "introprenuer"?

“An introprenuer is an entrepreneur or intraprenuer who introspects their way to knowingness. They examine their thoughts and feelings in a manner that propels them forward, to achieve their goals. They are intelligent individuals who are knowledgeable.”

Subscribe on Spotify via the button below.

Subscribe to the introprenuer

0 Comments
The Ascending World
The Ascending World
Thoughts on mindset, technology, progress, and the ascending world.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Viktor